The Department of Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry (OPD) at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry, has a rich history and legacy. OPD is part of a research intensive public university, a premier School of Dentistry, and the Horace H. Rackham Graduate School. The Department consists of two advanced education programs: Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry. OPD also provides required and elective specialized training to dental students and a CODA accredited one-year training program in craniofacial orthodontics. The department strives to provide patient centered and evidence-based approaches to treatment. OPD conducts pioneering research to test treatment effectiveness, develop novel technologies and treatments, and advance basic knowledge of human development and pathology. OPD provides service in the form of continuing education, treatment of vulnerable patient populations, as well as active participation and leadership in professional organizations.

MISSION

The Department of Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry's mission is to promote excellence in orthodontic and pediatric dental education, research, patient care and service. The department's continued success as leaders in orthodontic and pediatric specialties and the dental profession demands organizational effectiveness, shared commitment, and mutual respect amongst all who are empowered to develop their innovation and creativity. Aligning with University's rich and complex history, the department seeks to create a supportive and collegial atmosphere to forge ahead while still cherishing the proud traditions and history. The department shares the core values of the University of Michigan School of Dentistry which include:

  • Compassion
    Encourage a culture of collaboration, collegiality and helpfulness based on empathy and respect
  • Leadership
    Shape the future leaders of dentistry
  • Excellence
    Be the best at all we do
  • Responsibility
    Promote integrity, professionalism, and accountability to ensure ethical decision making
  • Trust
    Commit to honest transparent communication to build relationships
  • Creativity
    Challenge existing knowledge to foster problem-solving and new discovery
  • Inclusion
    Embrace and celebrate the diverse community

Academic Programs

ORTHODONTICS GRADUATE PROGRAM (MS)

A three year program to produce leaders in orthodontics, whether in clinical practice, teaching, or research.

PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY GRADUATE PROGRAM (MS)

A 30 month program designed to prepare qualified dentists for specialized private practice, teaching, research, or service within a large hospital.

ORTHODONTICS GRADUATE PROGRAM (Non-degree)

A fast-paced and enriching twelve month course to provide solid foundational knowledge in orthodontics and training in scientific methodology.

ORTHODONTICS CLINIC

Providing personalized, state of the art, orthodontic treatment using the latest techniques in a caring environment.

PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY CLINIC

Pediatric dentistry is the branch of dentistry dealing with children from birth through adolescence.

DCBIA-lab-thumbnail

Dental and Craniofacial Bionetwork for Image Analysis - DCBIA

The DCBIA brings together clinical researchers, brings together clinical researchers, computer scientists and engineers to address the following gaps between clinical choices and effective treatments: (a) a lack of quantitative imaging biomarkers of bone structure; (b) limitations in techniques to assess treatment effects and quantify degradation or repair of bone; (c) a lack of software and training for the use in dental clinical practice management.

hatch-lab-thumbnail

Hatch Lab

The Hatch Lab is focused upon elucidating essential factors and pathways that control craniofacial skeletal development and pathogenic mechanisms leading to craniofacial skeletal anomalies, with an emphasis on craniosynostosis (the premature fusion of cranial bones).

ono lab thumbnail

Ono Lab

The Ono laboratory uses genetically engineered mice to study the fundamental biology of stem and progenitor cells of the bone cell lineage in growth, development and homeostasis.

ORTHODONTICS AND PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY (OPD) DIRECTORY

List of Dentistry People in this Department
Name Sort descending Contact Title
Adams, David
(dmfadams)
734-764-1520
dmfadams@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Ahmed, Fatima
(ahmedfa)
734-764-4482
ahmedfa@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Amarin, Jacqueline Zouhair
(jamarin)

jamarin@umich.edu
Arruda, Airton
(aarruda)
734-2181775
aarruda@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Barber, Elizabeth Ann
(emalette)
734-615-6917
emalette@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Barkley, Mary
(barkleym)
734-764-4504
barkleym@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Bates, William Ray
(wrbates)

wrbates@umich.edu
Baty, Deverell
(devbaty)
734-615-6917
devbaty@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Beard, Katherine Vivian
(kvjohn)

kvjohn@umich.edu
Behnan, Michael
(mbehnan)
734-764-1520
mbehnan@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Bender, Mary Catherine Anne
(bendmary)

bendmary@umich.edu
Berkman, Mark
(mberkman)
734-647-8824
mberkman@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Biggs, Elizabeth Victoria
(eelner)

eelner@umich.edu
Bilbee, Megan Rose
(mbilbee)

mbilbee@umich.edu
Bookwalter, Roger
(bookwalt)
734-764-1520
bookwalt@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Boynton, James Richard
(jboynton)
734-763-2331
jboynton@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Briskie, Daniel
(briskied)
734-615-6917
briskied@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Cevidanes, Lucia Soares
(luciacev)
734-647-5856
luciacev@umich.edu
Drs Thomas M and Doris Graber Endowed Professor of Dentistry and Associate Professor of Dentistry
Chandna, Shruti
(shrutil)

shrutil@umich.edu
Choong, Carissa Mun-Hui
(choongca)

choongca@umich.edu
Cleary, Jennifer Ann
(clearyje)

clearyje@umich.edu
Cong, Fangdi
(amaliac)

amaliac@umich.edu
Crawford, Derrick Myron
(derrcraw)

derrcraw@umich.edu
Crouse, Ulla
(ucrouse)
734-647-8824
ucrouse@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Daniels, Alexis
(alexidan)

alexidan@umich.edu
Davies, Tracy
(tedavies)
734-764-1523
tedavies@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
De Oliveira Ruellas, Antonio Carlos
(aruellas)
734-936-3919
aruellas@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry Department of Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry
DeRosia, Marsha
(marshaly)
734-647-4304
marshaly@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Emmanouil, Emmanouil
(manosemm)

manosemm@umich.edu
Fogge, Michael
(mfogge)

mfogge@umich.edu
Ford, Tiffani
(fordtiff)
734-647-4304
fordtiff@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Fuller, Chizell
(chizellf)
734-647-2394
chizellf@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Gaballah, Tasneem
(tgaballa)

tgaballa@umich.edu
Garcia, Jeanette
(garciaje)
734-615-6917
garciaje@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Gauna, Monique
(moreneeg)
734-615-6917
moreneeg@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Gebeck, Thomas Richard
(trge)
734-615-3667
trge@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Gebeck, Thomas
(trgebeck)
734-764-1520
trgebeck@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Glick, Jason Scott
(mrblonde)
734-764-1523
mrblonde@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Graf, Kayla
(rdakayla)
734-615-6917
rdakayla@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Grewal, Harneet
(harneetg)
734-764-7820
harneetg@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Groth, Christian
(cgroth)
734-764-1520
cgroth@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Gumber, Samita
(sgumber)

sgumber@umich.edu
Haerian, Andre
(haerian)
734-764-1520
haerian@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Hannapel, Eric David
(hannapez)
734-764-1520
hannapez@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Hatch, Nan
(nhatch)
734-647-6567
nhatch@umich.edu
Lysle E Johnston Jr Collegiate Professor of Orthodontics, Associate Professor of Dentistry and Chair, Department of Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry, School of Dentistry
Hess, Laura
(lauragzy)
734-647-2409
lauragzy@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Hsiao, Chu-Chun
(cchsiao)
734-763-1790
cchsiao@umich.edu
Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Hummon, Gregory
(ghummon)
734-764-1520
ghummon@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Ioshida, Marilia Sayako Yatabe
(msyatabe)
734-615-8712
msyatabe@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Johnson, Joel Micah
(drjoel)
734-764-4173
drjoel@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Johnston, Lysle
(lejjr)

lejjr@umich.edu
Professor Emeritus of Dentistry
Karaouzas, Litsa
(karlitsa)
734-232-9675
karlitsa@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Kaur, Ramandeep
(rdkaur)

rdkaur@umich.edu
Pediatric Dental Resident
Keener, Dylan James
(djkeener)

djkeener@umich.edu
Graduate Orthodontic Resident
Kelly, Katherine
(kathk)
734-647-4311
kathk@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Khuraybah, Abad Mohammed
(abad)

abad@umich.edu
Kim, Youngjoo
(yekim)
734-764-3564
yekim@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Kim-Berman, Hera
(bermanh)
734-764-4504
bermanh@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Kishta-Derani, Maryam
(maryamk)
734-764-1523
maryamk@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Klarck, Richard Paul
(rklarck)

rklarck@umich.edu
Kloostra, Stephanie
(stephklo)
734-615-6917
stephklo@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Kristal, Danielle
(dkristal)

dkristal@umich.edu
Kwon, Edwin Kyuwook
(edkwon)
734-615-9667
edkwon@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
LaPointe, Melanie
(melp)
734-764-1522
melp@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Intermediate
Liss, Rebecca
(rlkott)
734-764-1520
rlkott@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Logan, Candice Elizabeth
(candiclo)

candiclo@umich.edu
Mackie, Tamara
(mtamara)

mtamara@umich.edu
Majewski, Robert
(drjetski)
734-615-6917
drjetski@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Malcheff, Sam
(malcheff)
734-615-6917
malcheff@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Malhi, Nimrat Kaur
(malhin)

malhin@umich.edu
Matsushita, Yuki
(myuki)
734-239-5698
myuki@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Maturo, Raymond
(ramaturo)
734-764-1523
ramaturo@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
McClatchey, Laurie McNamara
(lmcnam)
734-764-1520
lmcnam@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
McCone, Meggan
(meggkr)
734-615-6917
meggkr@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
McMullen, Craig
(mccraig)

mccraig@umich.edu
McNamara, James Alyn
(mcnamara)

mcnamara@umich.edu
Professor Emeritus of Dentistry, Department of Orthodontic and Pediatric Dentistry, Professor Emeritus of Cell and Developmental Biology, Medical School and Research Professor Emeritus, Center for Human Growth and Development
Mitchell-Murry, Jayme
(jaymes)
734-647-4304
jaymes@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Morrow, Melissa
(mdmorrow)
734-764-1523
mdmorrow@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor in Dentistry
Nagata, Mizuki
(mizukin)
734-764-1522
mizukin@umich.edu
Research Fellow, Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry
Nam, Hwa Kyung
(hknam)
734-647-3774
hknam@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Assoc
Nolan, Patrick James
(pjnolan)
734-764-1520
pjnolan@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Nye, Seth Noel
(sethnye)

sethnye@umich.edu
Ocenasek, Kristi
(kocean)
734-615-6917
kocean@umich.edu
Allied Health Intermediate Supervisor
Oljace, Gail
(goljace)
734-764-4482
goljace@umich.edu
Business Administrator Inter
Ono, Noriaki
(noriono)
734-647-8450
noriono@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Ono, Wanida
(wono)
734-764-1522
wono@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Padovano, Joshua David
(jdpadov)

jdpadov@umich.edu
Patel, Nikita Sunil
(nikitapa)

nikitapa@umich.edu
Pecoraro, Sandra
(sandpeco)
734-647-4166
sandpeco@umich.edu
Clinic Lead
Peterson, Jennifer
(jspeter)
734-764-1520
jspeter@umich.edu
Clinic Lead
Phelan, Caroline
(cphelan)
734-936-3072
cphelan@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Pinzon, Maria Lucia
(mlpinzon)
734-764-1520
mlpinzon@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Polacek, Jenna Nicole
(jpolacek)

jpolacek@umich.edu
Pruess, Karen
(kpruess)
734-615-6917
kpruess@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Ramaswami, Neerrajah
(neeruram)
734-764-1523
neeruram@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Roberts, Christopher
(findlay)
734-764-1520
findlay@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Robinson, Thomas John
(tjrobins)
734-647-8824
tjrobins@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Salzmann, Larry Bill
(salzmann)
734-764-3564
salzmann@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Sarment, Sylvie
(ssarment)
734-615-9667
ssarment@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Sencak, Regina Caroline
(rsencak)

rsencak@umich.edu
Sherbel, Jason Sean
(jsherbel)

jsherbel@umich.edu
Sherwood, Paula
(paulags)
734-764-9561
paulags@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Shin, Stephanie Suhyoung
(ssshin)
734-615-6917
ssshin@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Shipman, Sara
(smship)
734-615-6917
smship@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Shirey, Nicholas Joseph
(njshirey)

njshirey@umich.edu
Orthodontic Resident
Class of 2022
Shoukri, Brandon Samir
(bshoukri)
734-764-1520
bshoukri@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Smith, Scott Douglas
(drscott)
734-615-6917
drscott@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Stieber, Jane Catherine
(stieberj)
734-615-6917
stieberj@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Streeter, Tessa Nicole
(tstreet)

tstreet@umich.edu
Sytek, Lauren Elizabeth
(bauerlau)

bauerlau@umich.edu
Tamashiro-Miyamoto, Neil Eiji
(nemiyamo)

nemiyamo@umich.edu
Taylor-Dicks, Gina
(gtdicks)
734-647-4304
gtdicks@umich.edu
Allied Health Intermediate Sup
Van, Ly Julie
(vanlyj)

vanlyj@umich.edu
Vantuyl, Jill
(jillvant)
734-764-1523
jillvant@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Verma, Aditi
(adverma)

adverma@umich.edu
Vesela, Iva Abramyan
(vesela)
734-764-3774
vesela@umich.edu
Research Fellow, Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry
Walker, Abbie
(walkerab)
734-764-3564
walkerab@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Weeden, Josephine Clark
(jcweeden)
734-764-1520
jcweeden@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
West, Kristine Spring
(kswest)
734-764-1520
kswest@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
White, Cassandra Marie
(meyercas)
734-764-1080
meyercas@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Intermediate
Wu, Erica
(erwu)
734-764-1523
erwu@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Yang, Yu-Ju
(yujuyang)
734-615-6917
yujuyang@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Zapien-Guerra, Karen Elizabeth
(kzapien)

kzapien@umich.edu

Not finding the person you want to find? Go to the Directory.


DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Lysle E Johnston Jr Collegiate Professor of Orthodontics, Associate Professor of Dentistry and Chair, Department of Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry, School of Dentistry


CONTACT

Department Administrator
Business Administrator Inter
734-764-4482 | goljace@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Intermediate
Administrative Assistant Intermediate
734-764-1080 | meyercas@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Intermediate
Administrative Assistant Intermediate
734-764-1522 | melp@umich.edu