Dark

Oral and maxillofacial surgeons care for children and adult patients who experience such conditions as head and neck cancer, tumors and cysts of the jaws, cleft and craniofacial deformities, obstructive sleep apnea, misaligned jaws, accident victims suffering facial injuries, facial pain and temporal mandibular joint (TMJ) disorders, reconstructive and dental implant surgery, functional and esthetic conditions of the maxillofacial areas, and dental extractions including wisdom teeth and preparation for dentures.

The oral and maxillofacial team of surgeons and residents serve patients at several locations:

University of Michigan School of Dentistry

1011 North University Ave
1st Floor Information Desk
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

University of Michigan Hospital

Admit Lounge: Red Pillar
Level 1 B216
1500 E. Medical Center Dr
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

C.S. Mott (Children's Hospital)

Pediatric Outpatient Surgery
3rd Floor MCHC
1540 East Hospital Dr
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery/Hospital Dentistry

Med Inn, Room C213
1500 E. Medical Center Dr
Ann Arbor, MI 48109


Academic Programs

GENERAL PRACTICE RESIDENCY

An intensive hospital-based training program that equips residents to work in multidisciplinary teams to deliver the best comprehensive care to patients with complex needs and conditions.

ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY

A comprehensive education program that complements previous dental training with broad exposure to oral and maxillofacial surgery across a clinical population of diverse and complex cases.

ONCOLOGY / MICROVASCULAR SURGERY FELLOWSHIP

A 1- to 2-year program to train oral and maxillofacial surgeons in the diagnosis, treatment, and long-term management of patients with benign and malignant lesions of the head and neck.

EXTERNSHIPS

We welcome externs interested in careers in oral and maxillofacial surgery and hospital dentistry to join us for a week of observational training at Michigan Medicine.

ORAL SURGERY CLINIC

Oral and maxillofacial surgeons care for children and adult patients who experience such conditions as head and neck cancer, tumors and cysts of the jaws, cleft and craniofacial deformities, obstructive sleep apnea, misaligned jaws, accident victims suffering facial injuries, facial pain and temporal mandibular joint (TMJ) disorders, reconstructive and dental implant surgery, functional and esthetic conditions of the maxillofacial areas, and dental extractions including wisdom teeth and preparation for dentures.

RESEARCH

In the lab, whether we are studying tissues or managing data, we are thinking of the patient whose life will be bettered by the research we conduct. As one of the most successful oral and maxillofacial surgery/ hospital dentistry units in the country in securing external funding, we bring deep resources and diverse skills to bear on solving the most vexing surgical dilemmas.

ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY / HOSPITAL DENTISTRY DIRECTORY

List of Dentistry People in this Department
Name Sort descending Contact Title
Ashman, Lawrence
(ashmanl)
734-936-8289
ashmanl@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Baisch, Cheryl
(cbaisch)
734-763-9716
cbaisch@umich.edu
Admin Manager Intermediate Healthcare
Bedair, Ennis Malik
(anasmo)
734-936-8289
anasmo@umich.edu
Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Berks, Jenn
(jcjoh)
734-936-8289
jcjoh@umich.edu
Admin Asst Sr Healthcare
Betts, Norman
(njbetts)
734-764-1542
njbetts@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Campbell, Carolyn
(cmcamp)
734-232-6048
cmcamp@umich.edu
Admin Asst Sr Healthcare
Carbary, Wendy
(wcarbary)
734-764-1543
wcarbary@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Intermediate
Cesteleyn, Luc
(lucc)
734-764-1542
lucc@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Chang, Diane
(dchangz)
734-936-8289
dchangz@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Chin, Amy Man-Wai
(amychin)
734-764-1542
amychin@umich.edu
Staff Dentist
Cornwall, Benjamin
(bcwall)
734-936-5955
bcwall@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Cottrell, Kelly
(kcottrel)
734-764-1542
kcottrel@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Crist, Jennifer Lynn
(jcrist)
734-936-3940
jcrist@umich.edu
Patient Services Intermediate
Fear, Dalbert Wayne
(fdalbert)
734-764-1568
fdalbert@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Goss, Machille
(rgoss)
734-672-1309
rgoss@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Haley, Colletta
(haleyck)
734-763-8984
haleyck@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Haviland, Catherine
(cathavil)
734-936-5950
cathavil@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Herzog, Curtis Richard
(crherzog)
734-936-0864
crherzog@umich.edu
Hock, Douglas
(douhock)
734-764-1542
douhock@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Hoffman, Donald
(donaldho)
734-764-1542
donaldho@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Holecek, Derek Francis
(dfholece)
734-232-6048
dfholece@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Hossameldin, Reem Hamdy
(rhossame)
734-764-1542
rhossame@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Jensen, Ole
(jensenol)
734-764-1542
jensenol@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Kulas, Dama
(dkulas)
734-615-5488
dkulas@umich.edu
Admin Asst Sr Healthcare
Kuo, Shiuhyang
(skuo)
734-615-9722
skuo@umich.edu
Assistant Research Scientist
Lay-Luskin, Jennifer Ann
(jalay)
734-763-8657
jalay@umich.edu
Clinical Res Coordinator Hlth
Leffler, Tammy
(tleffler)
734-764-1520
tleffler@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Levi, Becky
(levib)
734-647-4196
levib@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Lopez, Paul
(lopezp)
734-764-5230
lopezp@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Maazza, Paulette
(paumaa)
734-647-4197
paumaa@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Marti, Kyriaki Christos
(kyriaki)

kyriaki@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Mata, Sandra
(smata)
734-763-5963
smata@umich.edu
Admin Asst Inter Healthcare
Metwally, Tarek Nabil
(tmetwall)
734-232-6048
tmetwall@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Munz, Stephanie Marie
(smmunz)
734-936-8289
smmunz@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Murthy, Anand
(anmu)
734-232-6048
anmu@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Nolan, Jemma
(jemma)
734-763-3392
jemma@umich.edu
Dental Hygienist
Persico, Jeffrey
(jepersic)
734-764-1542
jepersic@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Pullen, Kyle Thomas
(kpullen)
734-764-1568
kpullen@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Ricketson, Jeremiah
(ricketsj)
734-936-5950
ricketsj@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Sdao, Gloria Bensinger
(gbemsing)
734-647-4201
gbemsing@umich.edu
Admin Asst Sr Healthcare
Soto, Ana-Alisia
(anasoto)
734-763-3115
anasoto@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Associate
Starck, Dylan
(starckd)
734-936-5950
starckd@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Stefanac, Stephen
(stefanac)
734-764-7498
stefanac@umich.edu
Clinical Professor
Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, School of Dentistry
Sugiyama, Debra
(debsugi)
734-763-3115
debsugi@umich.edu
Allied Health Intermediate Sup
Sweigard, Diane
(sweigard)
734-647-4131
sweigard@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Associate
Thompson, Megan
(megski)
734-615-8604
megski@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Toledo, Jose Maria Ramos
(josemarr)

josemarr@umich.edu
Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry, Department of Oral Maxillofacial Surgery
Valente, Carolyn
(valentec)
734-615-5970
valentec@umich.edu
Patient Services Associate
Vartanian, Mark
(markvart)
734-763-6954
markvart@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Inter
Wallace, Sommer
(sommernw)
734-763-9716
sommernw@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Senior
Ward, Brent
(bward)

bward@umich.edu
Chalmers J Lyons Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Associate Professor of Dentistry and Chair, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery/Hospital Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Associate Professor of Surgery, Medical School
Washington, James
(jbwash)
734-763-4530
jbwash@umich.edu
Laboratory Manager
Woods, Laura Sue
(lswoods)
734-764-1542
lswoods@umich.edu
Admin Asst Sr Healthcare
Yellich, George Michael
(gmyell)
734-764-1542
gmyell@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Zhang, Wen-Xiang
(wxzhang)
734-647-0452
wxzhang@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Adjunct Lecturer in Surgery

Not finding the person you want to find? Go to the Directory.


DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Chalmers J Lyons Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Associate Professor of Dentistry and Chair, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery/Hospital Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Associate Professor of Surgery, Medical School