Mathilde C Peters

Professor Emerita of Dentistry


Cariology, Restorative Sciences & Endodontics


2391 DENT
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1078




Mathilde (Tilly) Peters, DMD, PhD, holds the position of tenured Professor in the Department of Cariology, Restorative Sciences, and Endodontics at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry. After receiving her dental degree from the University of Nijmegen (currently known as Radboud University) in Nijmegen, the Netherlands in 1975, Dr. Peters joined the Faculty at the Nijmegen School of Dentistry, in Pedodontics and in Cariology & Endodontology while she also worked in the Center for Extended Duties and the School of Dental Service in Nijmegen and surroundings. From the beginning she has been involved in teaching and curricular renewal, implementing an individual-based learning curriculum. As tenured Associate Professor she pursued her research interests in dental biomechanics completing her interdisciplinary PhD in Biomechanics in 1981, while maintaining a part-time faculty practice. After a stay as Fulbright Visiting Scholar at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, (1982), she returned to the University of Nijmegen and established the University Nijmegen Dental Biomechanics Group. In 1991, she spent a year in Minneapolis as the Lasby Visiting Research Professor at the University of Minnesota Dental Research Center for Biomaterials and Biomechanics. After a short return to her Alma Mator in the Netherlands, she moved in 1994 to South Australia where she held the position of Chair of Restorative Dentistry at the University of Adelaide, Adelaide SA, until she returned to the University of Michigan in 1997. As a principal investigator, she has been supported since 1997 by research grants at the federal (NIH), state and university level, by the Delta Dental Foundation and by industry partners. Dr. Peters has lectured as an invited speaker in numerous countries being recognized for her work in the field of minimally invasive dentistry and cariology. In 2008 she received the Hollenback Memorial Prize, a life-time achievement award for Research by the Academy of Operative Dentistry. She has been a member for many years of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR), the Academy of Operative Dentistry (AOD), the European Organization for Caries Research (ORCA) and the American Dental Education Association (ADEA). She is a Fellow of the Academy of Dental Materials (ADM) and of the International College of Dentists (ICD). She was the 2008-2009 President of the Cariology Research Group of the International Association for Dental Research. She serves currently on the Board of Directors of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR).