2020 Board of Governors Ballot and Bios


Vote for Four Dentists

Dr. Jake DeSnyder (1967 DDS), Plattsburgh, NY

Dr. DeSnyder served in the US Army from 1967-1970. He practiced in Plattsburgh from 1971-2010, and has worked part-time at an Article 28 Clinic from 2011-2019. He has served at all levels of Dentistry including Chair of NY State and ADA Council on Dental Practice. Dr. DeSnyder has participated in Stateside and International Missions of Mercy. He is a Fellow of the International College and the American College of Dentists.

Dr. William Mason (1981 DDS, 1984 MS), Saginaw, MI

Dr. Mason is a periodontist practicing in Saginaw since 1984. He attended UM undergrad, BS ’77 and Dental School, DDS ‘81 and MS periodontics ‘84. He is a member of the Dean’s Faculty in the Graduate Periodontics Clinic and has published 11 articles in various journals, 9 in the MDA Journal. He has presented at the Michigan Dental Association Annual Meeting and also on behalf of the Michigan Dental Association. Also, he is a life member of the ADA, MDA and AAP and has served as VP and on peer review for his local Saginaw County Dental Society. He is a member of the Pierre Fauchard Academy and has developed and patented a dental instrument to help alleviate the pain with palatal injections. He has two daughters in dentistry, Dr. Suzanne Mason a periodontist in Traverse City, and Dr. Chelsea Mason a general practitioner in Bay City.

Dr. Michael Palaszek (1982 DDS), Grand Rapids, MI

Michael graduated from the University of Michigan in 1982. He started his career on the west side of Grand Rapids and also maintained a satellite office in Cedar Springs. In 1991 he sold the Cedar Springs practice and became a partner at what is now Lake Michigan Dental. Early participation with organized dentistry involved work in the WMDDS Lab/Trade Relations and Peer Review committees. Mike worked his way through the chairs of the Kent County Dental Society, serving as President for 2013-2014. He became a Trustee of the West Michigan Dental Foundation in 2008, serving on the Community Grant and Golf committees, and as President for 2104-2105. In addition, Dr. Palaszek has previously served on the University of Michigan School of Dentistry’s Board of Governors. He was inducted as a Fellow into the American College of Dentists in 2018.

Dr. Lisa K Wendling* (1993 DDS, 1996 MS), Flint, MI

Dr. Wendling received her DDS from the University of Michigan in 1993, where she was inducted into Omicron Kappa Upsilon, an honorary dental society. She received her MS in Orthodontics in 1996. She has runs her private orthodontic practice in Flint Township, since 1998. She served as the Secretary of The Genesee District Dental Society from 2005-2006 and a Genesee District Delegate for the Michigan Dental Association from 2001-2003. She also served as an examiner for the State of Michigan Orthodontic Specialty Licensing examination from 2011-2013.

Vote for Two Hygienists

Ms. Karen Beckerman, RDH* (1995 BSDH), Plymouth, MI

Karen has been in dentistry for close to 30 years, starting as a dental assistant. Currently, she is clinical instructor and teach oral pathology and radiography at Jackson College. Karen volunteers at Hope Clinic in Ypsilanti and with OCAM- Oral Cancer Awareness of Michigan. She is member of the ADHA, MDHA, and SCDDHA.

Ms. Michelle A. Velez, RDH* (1998 BSDH), Royal Oak, MI

As a dental hygienist for 22 years and dental hygiene adjunct faculty member for six years, Michelle is currently in her last months of the MSDH graduate program as a Fellow. She thrives in collaborative environments that support evidence based practices and clinical research. Eagar to utilize the knowledge learned, she will continue to empower her students as an educator and researcher, in addition to having passion for their profession and practicing with great ethics. Michelle enjoyed serving and leading both the University of Michigan Dental Hygiene Alumni Association as president for five years (2013-2018) and the Board of Governors this past term. It would be her honor for the opportunity to serve another term. Michelle is a current member of ADHA, ADEA, MDHA, MADHE and the Sigma Phi Alpha Dental Hygiene Honor Society.