Skip to content Skip to navigation

McCauley Elected to National Academy of Medicine

Also Receives AAP’s Distinguished Scientist Award

Ann Arbor, MI — October 19, 2015 — Dr. Laurie McCauley, dean of the University of Michigan School of Dentistry, has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM).  The Academy was originally known as the Institute of Medicine.  It was renamed in July.

Membership in the National Academy of Medicine is one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine.  It is based upon distinguished professional achievement in a field related to medicine and health; demonstrated and continued involvement with issues of health care, disease prevention, education or research; skills and resources likely to contribute to achieving the Academy’s mission; and willingness to be an active participant in the work of the Academy.

Current active members elect new members from among candidates nominated for their accomplishments and contributions in advancing the medical sciences, health care and public health.  No more than 70 regular members and 10 international members are elected annually.  McCauley, who joins three others from U-M, brings total active membership in NAM to 1,826.  Its international membership is 137.

McCauley also received the Distinguished Scientist Award from the American Academy of Periodontology.  The award was presented at AAP’s 101st recent annual meeting in Orlando.  She was recognized for her major research and clinical contributions to periodontology during the past 20 years that have been published in scientific journals, presented and scientific conferences or symposia, and have been incorporated into pre- or post-doctoral education.

McCauley became dean of the U-M School of Dentistry in September 2013.  She chaired the Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine (2002-2012), one of the school’s largest, with more than 180 faculty, staff and graduate students prior to assuming the deanship.

McCauley is the William K. and Mary Anne Najjar Professor of Dentistry and professor in the Department of Pathology at the U-M Medical School.  She earned her BS, DDS, MS and PhD (in veterinary pathobiology) from The Ohio State University.  McCauley was a visiting scientist/professor at the Institut de Genetique et de Biologie Molecular et Cellulaire, the Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon, and the Center for Experimental Therapeutics and Reperfusion Injury at Brigham and Women’s Hospital at the Harvard School of Medicine.

McCauley is a diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology, a fellow with the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a former council member of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR), former associate editor of the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research, a fellow in the American College of Dentists and the International College of Dentists.  She also served on the National Institutes of Health, National Advisory Dental & Craniofacial Research Council.

For more than 20 years, McCauley has led an active research program in hormonal controls and cellular mechanisms of bone remodeling, parathyroid hormone anabolic actions in bone, and prostate cancer skeletal metastasis.

Among the many awards and honors she has received include the inaugural Paula Stern Achievement Award from ASBMR, a distinguished scientist award from the International Association for Dental Research, and the William J. Gies Award presented by the American Academy of Periodontology.

"I am deeply grateful for the supportive environment and outstanding colleagues at Michigan that contributed to the work for which I am being recognized," McCauley said.  "It is an incredible honor to be selected for membership in the National Academy of Medicine."

McCauley is the school’s second dean to be honored with membership in the National Academy of Medicine.  In 2011, Dean Peter Polverini was inducted into the Institute of Medicine before the name change to the National Academy of Medicine.