Skip to content Skip to navigation

Biologic and Materials Sciences and Division of Prosthodontics


Peter Ma New Materials Research Society Fellow

Dr. Peter Ma, a professor of dentistry in the Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences (BMS), has been named a Fellow by the Materials Research Society.

MRS is an international organization of almost 16,000 materials researchers from academia, industry and government from 80 countries. Its mission is to promote interdisciplinary materials research to advance materials that improve the quality of life. Members are in disciplines that include physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics and engineering… and now dentistry. Read the full story

Dr. Snyder Earns Two Awards at Faculty Appreciation Banquet

Dr. Mark Snyder was recognized with two awards at the Faculty Appreciation Banquet.

Mark received the Faculty Appreciation Award from students in 3-Blue and also received a faculty appreciation award, now termed the Paul Gibbons Award, from the class of 2015.

The Gibbons award, established more than 50 years ago, recognizes one faculty member that dental graduates consider the most influential during the four years of their education. Mark will be honored at the commencement ceremonies on May 8th.

Anastasia Katsavochristou Receives Rackham Research Grant

Congratulations to Anastasia Katsavochristou (graduate program in Prosthodontics at the School of Dentistry) for receiving a Rackham Graduate Student Research Grant award on March 9, 2015, for study at the University of Michigan.

Joe Nguyen Wins 2nd Place in AADR Hattan Award

Joe Nguyen, an OHS/PhD student from the Krebsbach Lab, won 2nd place in the AADR Hatton Award at the IADR General Session March 2015. This award is designed to provide an opportunity for the best junior investigators to present their research at the annual IADR General Session.

Joe was also one of 20 students to win the AADR Student Research Fellowship. This Fellowship was created to encourage dental student to consider careers in oral health research.

Congratulations Dr. Krebsbach

Paul Krebsbach will be inducted as President of the American Association of Dental Research (AADR) at the forthcoming AADR meeting in Boston.

Xu Qian and Joe Nguyen Win Awards at Research Day

Xu Qian and Joe Nguyen won awards for their presentations at the UM School of Dentistry Research Day. The Dean also made a comment that Joe did a great job when alumni viewed his poster.

Award Winners Announced

Graduate Prosthodontic resident award winners this year:

  • Edward J. Billy Scholarship Award
    • Anastasia Katsavochristou
    • Sabrina Garcia Gazaui
  • Joseph A. Clayton Scholarship Award
    • Mika Stefos
    • Andrew Dill

Congratulations Dr. Kane

Dr. Lisa Kane has successfully completed the certification process and is officially a Diplomate of the American Board of Prosthodontics.

Promotions for Four BMS Faculty

The Regents of the University of Michigan approved the promotion of the following BMS faculty effective September 1, 2014:

  • Vesa Kaartinen to the rank of Professor of Dentistry w/tenure
  • Kenichi Kuroda to the rank of Associate Professor of Dentistry w/tenure
  • Yuji Mishina to the rank of Professor of Dentistry w/tenure
  • Marianella Sierraalta to the rank of Clinical Professor

Congratulations Dr. Mistretta and Dr. Bradley

Congratulations to Charlotte Mistretta, Robert Bradley and two colleagues from the Medical School. Charlotte is the corresponding Principal Investigator on a new multi-PI award from.

Chris Donnelly Wins Dziewiatkowski Award

The 2014 Dr. Dziewiatkowski award recipient was Chris Donnelly. His Mentor is Brian Pierchala. Chris presented a seminar and then was awarded a check and a plaque at the end of the seminar.

Dr. Hu and Dr. Mendonca Receive Awards at the 2014 IADR in Boston

Dr. Jan Hu, Professor of Dentistry, will be awarded the 2015 IADR Distinguished Scientist Award for Basic Research in Biological Mineralization. Dr. Hu has a long and distinguished career in the field of mineralized tissues where her emphasis is on the tissues that make up the mammalian tooth. Dr. Hu’s primary research interests and contributions are in the area of enamel mineralization, the characterization of genes and proteins in tooth formation, and the identification of genetic mutations associated with inherited dental defects. Her laboratory has made major contributions to the characterization and biologic understanding of ameloblastin, enamelin, and kallikrein-4 in mouse, porcine and human tissues.

Dr. Gustavo Mendonca, Associate Clinical Professor of Dentistry, will be awarded the 2015 IADR Academy of Osseointegration Innovation in Implant Science Award. Gustavo will receive this innovation grant to support his project to determine how microRNAs modulate osteoblast differentiation on nanoscale titanium surfaces.

Big congratulations to both Gustavo and Jan. You bring honor and distinction to our department and school.

Dr. Peter Ma Elected Fellow of Materials Research Society

Dr. Peter Ma was recently elected as a Fellow of the Materials Research Society. Peter will be honored at the annual meeting of the Materials Research Society this year.

Fellowship status in the MRS is an international achievement and serves to recognize outstanding members who have demonstrated sustained and distinguished contributions to the advancement of materials research. Congratulations, Peter.

Dr. John Drach Recognized by International Society of Antiviral Research

The International Society for Antiviral Research is recognizing Dr. John Drach, Professor Emeritus and former chairman of the Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences, the 2014 Gertrude B. Elion Memorial Lecture Award.

This is the highest award given by this professional society to a senior scientist for outstanding career accomplishments, an excellent record of mentoring students and younger scientists, and emulating the spirit and standards set by Dr. Elion.

Dr. Elion was an accomplished scientist and mentor who co-invented drugs to treat leukemia and herpes virus infections. She and co-workers also developed novel research methods that led to the development of the AIDS drug azidothymidine (AZT). She shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1988.

Older News